How I scrapbook with Project Life

“A picture is worth a thousand words, but a scrapbook page is worth a million memories” Remedio Lina C. Villarosa-Garcia

Scrapbooking means different things to different people but to me it all started with Project Life.  I have always enjoyed documenting memories, my Mum was a great one for keeping photo albums and this trait has passed on to me.  I remember the first scrapbook I ever made.  My parents took me to the UK seaside town of Whitby for a week which meant me missing school.  I was about 7 because I distinctly remember that this scrapbook included a beer mat which had been chewed by my baby sister (Old school ephemera).  I guess my folks thought creating a scrapbook would continue my education in some way.  I hope I still have that thing somewhere.  Since then I have created scrapbooks in a variety of notepads and ring-bound scrapbooks for trips away and memorable events.

Now my albums look a little different.  I discovered Project Life at the end of 2014, I watched a YouTube video by Lilly Pebbles [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RezoVv60EjU] where she talked about setting up a Project Life album and I have been hooked ever since.

Project Life is a memory keeping, system that uses a pocket scrapbook style.  Created by Becky Higgins [beckyhiggins.com] this way of preserving memories breaks scrapbooking down into is basic components – photos, pretty paper and space to journal.  No cutting, no sticking.  Pure and simple.

I bought an album – 12×12 D ring, a box of Design A pocket pages and a core kit – my first was Strawberry.

 album  pockets  core-kit
Album Pocket Pages Core Kit
My Project Life kit

 

This is all you need to get started with project life.  It is designed to be super simple and accessible.  You print your photos either through an online printing service (I used Truprint.com for a long time) or at home on your own printer, which is how I do it now.  You slot your photos into the pockets, then you chose a few cards, maybe add a title, do some journaling or just choose ‘filler cards’ which are designed to add colour and meaning to the page without you having to do anything.  Voila you have a 12×12 scrapbook page in minutes.

The kits are designed so that all the cards are co-ordinated to the particular colour scheme of that kit.  It makes it so easy to pick out cards for your page because they all go together.  The idea for ultimate simplicity is to use a core kit for your whole album.  I imagine that was my plan when I first started but trust me, once you’ve got one kit you will want more and more.

I started with Project Life when I was 8 months pregnant, I went back and scrapped a few major events from Oct 2014 – March 2015.  Then I had my first baby and I began doing a page each week.  Every week I had some new cute thing to document.  I did that entire year in one 12×12 album and all I did was print photos, write on cards and slip the lot in the pockets.

Since then I have become slightly more creative with my pages and now add embellishments and stickers but that’s a whole other post entirely.

A big part of keeping up with doing weekly pages, for me, was the Project Life App.  Back when I was using an online printer I would often print 6 weeks’ worth of photos at a time.  I was a new sleep-deprived, milk-machine, mother, I couldn’t remember which week my darling boy first rolled over once 6 weeks had gone by so the app came in really useful.  I would plan my layouts, decide which size photos I wanted and add my journaling. Then once my photos came I would slip in the photos, find the cards I had used, write out my journaling and add them to the page.  I want to write more about the app because I still use it for pretty much every layout despite using physical products but, for now, it’s safe to say that I would never have kept up to date with weekly scrapbooking if it wasn’t for that app.  If you haven’t already, go and download it now.  You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

