Like Forever March 2017 TN layout

LFE March TN1

I often wonder if I’m finding the right balance between searching for inspiration online and creating projects myself. Instagram can be kind of all consuming, I follow so many talented creative people that I could spend my whole day just scrolling through all their amazing work.

I’ve started using the save function on Instagram as a place to store personal inspirations. When I see someone use a technique I want to scraplift (respectfully replicate) I click that save button so I can go back and look through when I need some inspiration for a project.

When I was looking through my insta feed I saw a Travelers Notebook Scrapbook page by @schnullo using the Wild Whisper – Adventure collection. I loved how she used little bits of different patterned papers and one journal card as a focal point. I knew I wanted to create a similar layout using the gorgeous papers in the March LFE Keepsake kit.

LFE March TN2

I chose one of the cards from the cut apart paper for the left side and a tag for the right then I cut up 1*1 squares of the different papers that I liked and aimed to mix up busy colourful pieces with cleaner, paler colours. I added pops of gold foil with Ali Edwards phrase strips and even used the top part of the packaging they came in. I used a pen and ruler to create a stitched like effect around the journal card and the space for my photo and drew some lines for my journalling. I’ve found that narrower lines make my handwriting look neater.

LFE March TN3

I’m really happy with how this came out and although I’ve used techniques as inspiration before I’ve never scraplifted a whole layout. I think doing more of this is really going to help hone my skills, learn new things and hopefully get to a point where I can create my own inspiring layouts with all the new techniques I’ve learned.

LFE March TN4

Have you checked out my Facebook group ‘Travelers Notebook Scrapbookers’ its a great place to find and share inspiration

https://www.facebook.com/groups/361618254224634/?ref=bookmarks


Also if you’re on Instagram use these hash tags so we can all search for inspiring TN layouts:
#tnscrapbook
#tnscrapbooking
#tnscrapbooker

 

Leave a Reply

