Week in the life 2017 – Thursday

PicsArt_04-20-01.51.59

Today was Ben’s second day at nursery and Mum came with us.  Ben hadn’t been in the best mood all morning, he didn’t want to go upstairs, he didn’t want to get dressed (again) and he wanted to go out of the front door and couldn’t understand why I wouldn’t let him.  He didn’t want to get into mum’s car but he was quite happy getting out.  I think he knew where he was going and he was looking forward to it.  He did a little jump when we got out and he saw nursery.  I felt better going in this time, I knew where I was going and I saw some of the same staff.  I introduced mum to them and Ben toddled in while we chatted.  It was only when I asked him to say goodbye to me that he realised I was going.  He did get a bit upset but one of the staff (I must learn their names) gave him a hug and I just left.  I know from experience that the longer parents drag out those goodbyes the more upset the child gets and the bigger an issue it becomes.  On the other hand I don’t want to have to leave without him noticing.  I want him to know I’m leaving and get used to saying goodbye to me.  The hour he was there went really fast.  Mum and I came back to mine and had a cup of tea and I showed her my Project Life album.  I love sharing my creations and it’s so nice to have someone interested in seeing them.  By the time I even checked what time it was it was already time to leave.  We headed back to nursery and Ben was playing with some of the other boys.  The girls said he had been fine and just wanted to check that his Dad could pick him up.  I hope that Jase can go in with me one day so they can meet him.  Ben came to me when he saw me and lifted his arms up to me.  He did still cry when we left but I think he’s starting to get used to going and leaving.  I think he’s going to do great next week when he starts properly.  I’m so proud of him and excited for him to start this new adventure.

Leave a Reply

